D&M

pottery is our nature

Karoo Testimonials

Nadine Desirant
Interior architect

“We live in a world of hustle and bustle. People need peace and calm. That is why they are increasingly looking for plant and flower motifs in their interiors. On seating, cushions, lamp shades, table cloths, wallpaper, etc. Natural objects make people feel good and bring a sense of calm into their homes. Green walls are the ideal solution for bringing real live nature into your interior.

You don’t sacrifice any space and you create an optimal effect. Karoo is a prime example of this. It is modular, maintenance-friendly and ideally suited for both outdoors and indoors. What I find so interesting about this concept is that you can create a continuous effect. You can extend your interior to the exterior and vice-versa. The modules are small and that’s a great asset. In small spaces, you can achieve a fabulous effect with relatively few elements. In bigger spaces you can simply extend the system until you have an effect of total greenery. Karoo fits in everywhere. It looks as good in kitchens as it does in wellness centres.”

 

 

David Sels
Florist

“As a florist I am extremely enthusiastic about Karoo. The system is extremely user-friendly. You take the element out of the box and remove the protective film. Underneath you find the potting soil into which coconut fibre has been mixed. This ensures that the water flows vertically and is absorbed into all the plants. It is delivered with a fixture that has two pre-drilled holes, so that hanging up your Karoo is child’s play. Planting is also very simple. There is room for nine plants that you insert under a layer of felt. It’s a brilliant idea. So simple.

Karoo is a clean concept. You can water your plants or herbs without spilling a single drop. This is the first and only green wall system around today that you can use in your home, kitchen and garden. You decide for yourself how you want to install it and the end result is always attractive. I have integrated Karoo into my display window. Clients ask me “How did you manage to do that?” I explain it to them briefly and they are immediately sold on the idea.”


Bart Jaeken
Landscape architect

“Green walls are gaining in popularity. They provide a beautiful solution for decorating a roof terrace for instance. Installing a green wall adds tremendous value to a terrace. You can enjoy the sense of nature to the full and retain your views of the outside world. But they also add an aesthetically pleasing and fresh look to town gardens without having to sacrifice precious space. Hedges take up a lot more space.

Another great advantage of Karoo is the modular concept. You can create very interesting canvases with it by interweaving different types of plants and herbs. Succulents, agaves with their soft leaves, creeping plants, herbs, etc. You can create the most wonderful combinations with Karoo. The design is also very unique.

It is more than just a series of pots. It has been thoroughly researched. It is design. People are sensitive to this. They want to bring nature into their homes, but in a beautiful and creative way. Karoo responds to this need intelligently and efficiently. I have been using it for some time now and all I hear are positive reactions.”

 

 

Toon & Gom Saldien
Architects

“Green is growing enormously in popularity. It is much more than a trend. It is a view of life that has now been given shape. In times of crisis, we all want to return to basics, to things that really matter. The green trend is a direct consequence of this. Our architects often use green themes as the basis when designing a building.

‘Nest in green’ for instance is one such theme. The land also inspires us. Take a meadow. We cut it open; we plough it and drop a building under it so to speak .

The Karoo green wall also fits in with this philosophy. It is easy to build and easy to dismantle. You can use it vertically or horizontally. It is a concept that looks wonderful whatever the season. In the summer you can put your Karoo outside and grow herbs in it. In the winter you can bring it indoors – in your kitchen for instance. It is a product that I believe has a great deal of potential for growth – excuse the pun. And the larger building elements, that can be integrated using specific building techniques, offer even more possibilities, especially for architects.”


Jiri Vermeulen
Designer of Karoo

“Karoo is the result of a survey among urban and rural residents into the need for greenery. A great many people regretted the lack of greenery in their immediate surroundings. That was in fact the starting point of the concept. How do you integrate greenery into an apartment in town? I found a lot of inspiration in the work of Patrick Blanc, a French botanist. He reintroduced green walls in the nineties.

I wanted to translate his vision into a contemporary concept. It had to be user-friendly, flexible and attractive. And the successful outcome of this research was Karoo. It is easy to install; a modular system that can be used both indoors and outdoors.

It is a real eyecatcher that, when you combine it with several elements, still remains discreet. The future of Karoo? The modular system can be used for all types of applications. With a little imagination you can create a stand-alone green wall with it in offices. And why not install it to add a touch of life to a stand at a trade fair? You can do so much with Karoo.”

 

 

Steve Vercammen
Managing Director D&M

Two years ago we carried out a survey into the need for greenery in towns. This confirmed in fact what we already knew: when people have a restricted amount of space, they go in search of new green solutions. This marked the start of our joint venture with Jiri Vermeulen, a talented final year student at Artesis. We gave him the following mission: design a new and original green concept that is attractive, user- and maintenance-friendly and that can be used both indoors and outdoors.

The result is Karoo and we are extremely proud of it. Karoo fits in perfectly with the D&M philosophy. It is a unique, innovative system that can be used for all types of applications. It is ecologically friendly and of social relevance. It is a 100% Belgian product, not just designed by a local artist, but also produced in Belgium. It is even assembled in Belgium at a protected workshop in Zele. Each element is beautiful in itself. The modular design means that you save space and you can add elements whenever you want. You can create a kind of green painting. And you can also use it to decorate a whole wall. Karoo is an important step towards a new, sustainable green culture. Florists, architects, interior architects and landscape gardeners are already working enthusiastically with it.

Share this page

D&M

pottery is our nature

Karoo Testimonials

Nadine Desirant
Architecte d'interieur

“Nous vivons des temps agités. Les gens ont besoin de calme. C’est aussi pour cette raison que l’on voit toujours plus de motifs de plantes et de fleurs dans les intérieurs. Sur les sièges, les coussins, les abat-jour, les nappes, le papier peint… Les éléments naturels apportent un sentiment de bien-être aux gens et de tranquillité dans la maison. Les murs végétaux sont la solution idéale pour intégrer la nature en live dans un intérieur. Sans perte d’espace et avec un effet optimal.

Karoo en est un excellent exemple. Modulaire et facile d’entretien, il convient aussi bien à l’intérieur qu’à l’extérieur. C’est à mon sens ce qu’il y a de plus intéressant à ce concept : le fait qu’il permet de créer un effet continu. L’intérieur se prolonge dans le cadre extérieur et inversement. Son petit format est aussi un avantage. Avec relativement peu d’éléments, il est possible d’arriver à un beau résultat même dans un espace restreint. Dans un espace plus vaste, on peut alors développer le système pour en faire un véritable décor végétal. Karoo s’applique partout. Il est aussi beau dans la cuisine que dans un centre de bien-être.”

 

 

David Sels
Fleuriste

“En tant que fleuriste, je ne peux que me montrer enthousiaste par rapport à Karoo. Le système est ultra facile. On sort l’élément de la boîte et on retire le film de protection. En-dessous, on trouve le terreau mélangé à de la fibre de coco, ce qui permet à l’eau d’être très facilement absorbée par les plantes, dans le sens vertical.

La boîte contient aussi un gabarit avec deux trous pré percés, pour pouvoir accrocher Karoo en un rien de temps. L’installation des plantes est elle aussi extrêmement simple. Il y a de la place pour neuf petites plantes, que l’on fixe dans une couche de feutre. Une idée géniale. Et tellement simple !

Karoo est un concept propre. On peut arroser les plantes ou les herbes sans renverser une seule goutte d’eau. C’est le premier, et à ce jour le seul, système de mur végétal pour la maison, le jardin et la cuisine. Vous déterminez vous-même comment vous voulez le monter, et le résultat est toujours beau. J’ai intégré Karoo à mon étalage. Des clients me demandent parfois ‘comment avez-vous fait ça ?’ Il me suffit de leur expliquer un peu et ils sont tout de suite séduits.”


Bart Jaeken
Architecte de jardin

Les murs végétaux sont de plus en plus populaires. C’est une magnifique solution pour décorer une terrasse sur le toit, par exemple. Ce genre de murs apporte une énorme valeur ajoutée à une terrasse. Vous profitez pleinement de la nature tout en conservant une vue dégagée sur ce qui vous entoure. Mais ils embellissent et rafraîchissent aussi un jardin urbain, sans devoir sacrifier un espace précieux. On perd bien plus d’espace en plantant une haie.

Un autre gros avantage de Karoo est son concept modulaire. Il permet de créer de magnifiques tableaux et d’y intégrer toutes sortes de plantes et d’herbes. Plantes grasses, agaves à feuilles souples, plantes grimpantes, plantes aromatiques… Karoo permet les plus belles associations. Sa forme est elle aussi particulière, et va plus loin que de simples pots. C’est réfléchi. C’est design. Les gens y sont sensibles. Ils veulent faire venir la nature à eux, mais il faut aussi que cela soit beau, créatif. Karoo répond avec beaucoup d’intelligence et d’efficacité à cette attente. Cela fait déjà un moment que je l’utilise et je n’ai que des réactions enthousiastes…

 

 

Toon & Gom Saldien
Architectes

“Le ‘vert’ a vraiment la cote. C’est bien plus qu’une tendance, c’est une vision de la vie qui commence à prendre corps. En temps de crise, on veut en revenir aux certitudes, aux choses qui sont réellement importantes. La vague verte en est une conséquence directe. Notre bureau d’architectes part(cherche) souvent de thèmes écologiques pour la conception d’un bâtiment. Le thème ‘Nest in groen’ (‘Faire son nid dans la verdure’, ndt) en est un exemple.

Et puis, le terrain lui-même nous inspire aussi. Prenez une prairie. Nous l’ouvrons, nous la soulevons et nous glissons en quelque sorte le bâtiment en-dessous. Le mur vert Karoo cadre aussi dans cette philosophie. On peut facilement le monter et le démonter ensuite.On peut l’utiliser à la verticale ou à l’horizontale. C’est un concept qui est mis en valeur en toutes saisons.

En été, on met le Karoo dehors pour y cultiver des herbes. Et en hiver, on rentre tout, dans la cuisine par exemple. À mon avis, ce produit offre encore de grandes perspectives de développement. Avec de plus grands éléments de construction, greffés sur des techniques de construction spécifiques, les possibilités sont encore plus nombreuses, surtout pour un architecte”


Jiri Vermeulen
Concepteur de Karoo

“Karoo est né d’une enquête sur le besoin de verdure des citadins et des campagnards. Beaucoup de gens regrettaient le manque de verdure dans leur environnement immédiat. Ce constat a été le point de départ du concept. Comment intégrer la verdure dans une habitation urbaine ? J’ai puisé beaucoup d’inspiration dans le travail de Patrick Blanc, un botaniste français. C’est lui qui a réintroduit les murs végétaux dans les années 1990. J’ai eu envie de traduire sa perspective dans un concept contemporain. Il devait être convivial, flexible et esthétique. Et Karoo est tout ça à la fois.
Karoo s’installe très facilement. Il s’agit d’un système modulaire qui s’applique aussi bien à l’intérieur qu’à l’extérieur. C’est un objet accrocheur qui, associé à plusieurs éléments, peut aussi se faire discret. L’avenir de Karoo ? Son système modulaire se prête à n’importe quelle application. Avec un petit peu d’imagination, on peut aussi en faire un mur végétal indépendant dans l’espace bureau. Et pourquoi ne pas l’utiliser pour égayer un stand d’exposition ? Karoo offre tellement de possibilités.”

 

 

Steve Vercammen
Managing Director D&M

“Il y a 2 ans de cela, nous avons organisé une enquête sur les besoins de verdure en ville. Cette enquête a confirmé ce que nous savions déjà : à cause du manque d’espace, nous sommes plus que jamais à la recherche de nouvelles solutions vertes. C’est alors que nous avons entamé notre collaboration avec Jiri Vermeulen, un talentueux étudiant de dernière année d’Artesis. Nous l’avons immédiatement mis au travail avec la consigne suivante : développer un nouveau concept écologique original, qui soit à la fois esthétique, convivial et facile d’entretien, et qui puisse s’installer à l’intérieur comme à l’extérieur. Le résultat, c’est Karoo, et nous en sommes fiers. Karoo cadre parfaitement avec la philosophie de D&M Depot. C’est un système unique en son genre, innovant et multifonctions. Il est écologiquement responsable et socialement pertinent. Sans compter qu’il s’agit d’un produit 100 % belge, non seulement développé par un talent du cru, mais aussi produit en Belgique. L’assemblage se fait également en Belgique, dans un atelier protégé à Zele.

Chaque élément est beau en soi. Il permet de gagner de la place, et son caractère modulaire permet de le compléter et de l’étendre à l’envi. On peut en quelque sorte en faire un ‘tableau de verdure’. On peut aussi bien en décorer tout un pan de mur. Avec Karoo, nous marquons une avancée importante vers une nouvelle culture ‘verte’ durable. Les fleuristes, architectes, architectes d’intérieur et paysagistes qui travaillent avec Karoo sont d’ores et déjà enthousiastes.”

Partager cette page